Chinese New Year – Year of the Horse

Year of the HorseJanuary 31st, 2014 marks the Chinese Lunar New Year and ushers in the Year of the Horse. I was in Beijing the last week of December and had the opportunity to speak with the locals as to the significance of the Horse which they hold in high regard.  For those born under the sign, of which I am one, the horse signifies power and strength. It is energetic, bright, warm-hearted, intelligent and able.

I thought I would revisit one of my posts from February 2010 as I was preparing for a visit to China and the art of gift-giving for the Chinese New Year…enjoy.

“As I prep for my upcoming trip to China in time for the mass return of workers from the Chinese New Year, I was inquiring with a colleague as to appropriate recognition for the people who have helped me throughout the year. I was advised that it is customary to give money in a red envelope. Red signifies good luck. Generally a gift of 100RMB the equivalent of $14USD is acceptable. The higher you are in level, the more money.

Another interesting note is that married managers are expected to give a gift while unmarried managers generally do not have to. Why I asked? The answer: married managers are viewed as successful in family and career.”

Happy Year of the Horse!

~ by cja777 on January 26, 2014.

Leave a comment